Lost Levels Forums

The time now is Thu Apr 25, 2024 8:27 pm

PC Piracy
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Lost Levels Forum Index -> Video Game General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ProgrammingAce

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 5:18 am    Post subject: PC Piracy Reply with quote

Kotaku posted some figures for single day downloads of PC games off of a single torrent site: http://kotaku.com/364440/pc-gamings-piracy-sales-charts

I have hard figures in front of me from official research firms, but this kind of puts a face on the issue. I don't think i can put into words how disappointed i am.

While I was still in high school, my first job was working on a PC "game" for IBM. It was a AI simulation-turned-game, but it was free so we didn't have to worry about piracy. My second job was working as an Artificial Intelligence programmer for a couple of PC games. This was when i really started seeing the effects of piracy first hand. My degree is in Information Security, and what i do now is directly related to piracy. Without getting into too many specifics, let's just say i know a lot about pirating games.

I really don't think the people here are pirates. What lost levels does is completely different, and i respect what you guys do so i hope you don't misunderstand me.

If you're pirating games, stop. You are killing all of the good parts of the industry. More people pirated Okami then bought it. Same with Psychonauts. Same with a lot of games. That's seriously fucked up.

The dreamcast died due to piracy. PC gaming is dying due to piracy. Clover died due to piracy.

Seriously, knock it off.
The_bag_of_sand

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 5:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whoa! Thats bad. Really bad.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
shawnphase

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 8:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote