Lost Levels Forums

The time now is Fri Oct 20, 2017 12:40 pm

Playing NES roms on wierd ass DVD player

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Lost Levels Forum Index -> Off Topic
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kidicarus



Joined: 12 Dec 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2009 5:45 am    Post subject: Playing NES roms on wierd ass DVD player Reply with quote

Hello everyone, some forum out there somewhere suggested I post here to potentially find an answer to something -
I recently bought this strange tiny dvd player from Australia, on Ebay, and it includes a cdrom with 150 old school NES games on it.
Now of course I want to get some of the other 7999 roms out there, you know, .NES files - and put them to a fresh cdrom, and play these gems on this Ozzy DVD system. So far I can only say this - NES roms on the net are like, 20 - 50 Kb, and these Oz files are about 96kb. The file extension on the OZ disc is .BIN, and not .NES... SO... what should I do, anybody Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrdomino



Joined: 16 Aug 2005
Posts: 166

PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

could you maybe upload a couple of the ROMs to a file hosting site? might be possible to figure out the format then. i seem to recall some of these DVD players do have extra data in the ROM, but they equally could just be renamed .nes files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
rbudrick
not rubrdick


Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 549

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It likely only plays certain mappers too. Got a list of games? Then again, they probably could have put a full clone in there somehow. Are they PAL roms?

-Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kidicarus



Joined: 12 Dec 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Im pretty sure they are NTSC, though the dvd unit can be set up as either PAL or NTSC. Is there a way to check whether the rom itself is PAL? Everything plays fine when unit is set to NTSC, I am in Canada.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rbudrick
not rubrdick


Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 549

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 1:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, Ok, I thought you were in Australia, since you mentioned the Australian unit. If they look ok to you, they probably are indeed NTSC.

-Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KingMike



Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 873

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I remember somebody sent me the emu+ROM binary files, and I tried to identify the 300 or so games (not being able to actually play the games, I just guessed from the looking at the ROMs in a tile editor), but I think I only got about half done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dradsa



Joined: 27 Dec 2008
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 6:54 am    Post subject: same Reply with quote

hey everybody~

i live in australia and just picked up a similar dvd player from my local $2 store. similar story, only my cd has 300 roms, all also in bin format Sad

none run on an emulator on my pc but i read someone else had a similar problem with a simiar, if not the same, model as yours. all he did was put the .nes roms onto usb and they worked fine.

this solution does not however work on mine Sad

any ideas on how i could get it to play other games???

side note: the emulation runs at like 60% speed Razz mario and mm1 are a little too easy now haha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lugnut
Staff
Staff


Joined: 09 Sep 2003
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I got this Chinese iPod Touch clone for xmas, and then looking through the manual see that it runs NES ROMs. "Neato!," I think. So I put a couple on and load 'em up - hey, the sound and speed of the demo screens looks/sounds about right! Neato!

Then it dawns on me that this thing only has 4 buttons on it. Two of them don't do anything. But I found B and Start! They just forgot about A and any way to move. I hate Chinese iPods.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
ProgrammingAce



Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 578

PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Someone sent me a .bin rom from one of those goofy dvd players a while back. I found that if you take the padding off the end of the file and rebuilt the header, the rom would play on a PC emulator. I never really investigated making it work the other way around. I assume the file was padded in order to meet the sector size limit of the CD-Rom, the header was probably to encode the data for the menus.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
eSPy



Joined: 23 Sep 2012
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 12:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

my Satelite reciever does that as well. Haven't tried it as I'd have to use the remote control to play and it's all clicky.

http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/Original-Openbox-X5-full-HD-1080p-satellite-receiver-support-Youtube-Youporn-Google-Maps-Skcam-Cccam-Newcamd/904224_719094147.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Lost Levels Forum Index -> Off Topic All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

RSS


Powered by phpBB 2.0.23 © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group