Lost Levels Forums

The time now is Fri Dec 19, 2014 6:09 pm

NES2 Top Loader with official AV Out?
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Lost Levels Forum Index -> Unreleased Games
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
akadewboy



Joined: 20 Oct 2005
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 12:56 am    Post subject: NES2 Top Loader with official AV Out? Reply with quote

On ebay there was an auction for a Top loader NES2 that surprisingly has an SNES/N64/GC AV out. Has anyone seen one of these before?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=290269942329



Update!!!
A user from Gamefaqs by the name of scir has purchased and uploaded some youtube vids of his NES2 Topload AV:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XLfcBrk5ydc
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kka6FGl9kcw


Last edited by akadewboy on Sat Jul 25, 2009 11:15 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dot50Cal



Joined: 18 Sep 2006
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 5:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Someone on Assembler mentioned that French versions of the top loader had this at one time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheRedEye
The Internet's Frank Cifaldi
The Internet's Frank Cifaldi


Joined: 26 Aug 2003
Posts: 4095
Location: Oakland, CA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I seem to remember these being display units.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
johntorn



Joined: 19 Apr 2008
Posts: 14
Location: castalbania

PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I remember hearing about these online about ten years ago or so. Someone posted something somewhere saying that he had heard about them, called Nintendo (via the number you would call to order replacement parts, etc.), and ordered one for something like $50, but then they told him that they only had something like fifty of them. I'm sure those details aren't entirely accurate. Until seeing these pictures I was always under the impression that the hookup would have just been the two RCA plugs (as on the original NES model). I wonder what audio signal you get from the stereo Nintendo plug? I'm sure it's the same signal for both channels, only other option I can imagine is only sending through one channel which wouldn't seem right.
Always been a little bummed that my NES-2 only has RF output, because it's a lesser quality signal, but... we are talking about 8-bit graphics. It's ok.
Also I'm pretty sure there's a hack to get a cleaner signal out of a regular NES-2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
LocalH



Joined: 15 May 2004
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 1:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems to me like an AV Famicom that Nintendo put a 72-pin port and an NES badge on. They even hastily slapped an NES-001 label on the bottom =P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
BMF54123
Staff
Staff


Joined: 28 Aug 2003
Posts: 725
Location: Spokane, WA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 8:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I fail to understand why Nintendo didn't just release the AV version in the first place and provide the RF module separately, like they did with the N64. Probably would've cut down production costs slightly, leaving it out of the unit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
KingMike



Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 800

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

They probably wanted to do it as cheap as possible.
And they figured everybody had an RF-capable TV in those TVs, whereas I don't think composite was yet a standard feature even on low-end TVs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johntorn



Joined: 19 Apr 2008
Posts: 14
Location: castalbania

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I remember reading somewhere that Japan had a much bigger "installed base" of TV's with the newer hookups than the US did, hence the difference between the two versions.
I also remember a bunch of my friends throwing a fit when the N64 didn't come stock with an RF hookup, and that was a few years later. I used a VCR to get around that problem well into the next decade. Ha!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Smeg
Staff
Staff


Joined: 26 Aug 2003
Posts: 1572
Location: beneath enemy scrotum

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

KingMike wrote:
They probably wanted to do it as cheap as possible.
And they figured everybody had an RF-capable TV in those TVs, whereas I don't think composite was yet a standard feature even on low-end TVs.


That's not a satisfactory explanation. Why would "toaster" NESes have composite output, but not the top-loader, which was released later and should conceivably therefore be an improvement?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
neomerge



Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 326
Location: Woodstock GA!

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 3:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow that price is atrocious.

I really want to get a nes-2 but haven't been able to find one in my price range ($30-50). I remember once I found one that went for like $40 un-noticed on ebay but at that time I didn't have any money. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Smeg
Staff
Staff


Joined: 26 Aug 2003
Posts: 1572
Location: beneath enemy scrotum

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 3:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

neomerge wrote:
I really want to get a nes-2


No you don't. The regular ones output RF only.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
akadewboy



Joined: 20 Oct 2005
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The price is outrageous, especially since no one is even sure if this is real. It could be some kind of elaborate mod. The guy should provide more proof, such as taking a pic of the inards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BMF54123
Staff
Staff


Joined: 28 Aug 2003
Posts: 725
Location: Spokane, WA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 10:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

neomerge wrote:
I really want to get a nes-2 but haven't been able to find one in my price range ($30-50). I remember once I found one that went for like $40 un-noticed on ebay but at that time I didn't have any money. Sad

Though it's even further out of your price range, you'd be much happier with an AV Famicom + adapter. Trust me on this one.

The only thing it lacks is NES Zapper support, but apparently that's easily fixable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
neomerge



Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 326
Location: Woodstock GA!

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 6:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Smeg wrote:
neomerge wrote:
I really want to get a nes-2


No you don't. The regular ones output RF only.


I could care less, The nes-2 systems have less of a failure rate. I can live with RF output on an old gaming system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Smeg
Staff
Staff


Joined: 26 Aug 2003
Posts: 1572
Location: beneath enemy scrotum

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 1:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

neomerge wrote:
Smeg wrote:
neomerge wrote:
I really want to get a nes-2


No you don't. The regular ones output RF only.


I could care less, The nes-2 systems have less of a failure rate. I can live with RF output on an old gaming system.


Couldn't care less. And if you're going to make up statistics, at least make up figures to go with them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Skrybe
Staff
Staff


Joined: 28 Aug 2003
Posts: 1566
Location: Raleigh, NC

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To be fair, the springs that hold the cartridge in place in the original NES have been known to give out on well-used systems. The redesigned NES doesn't have this problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
I am Christina Aguilera



Joined: 25 Feb 2006
Posts: 151

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 7:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Skrybe wrote:
To be fair, the springs that hold the cartridge in place in the original NES have been known to give out on well-used systems. The redesigned NES doesn't have this problem.


Happened on mine. I have to plug any NES game into a Game Genie now before it will work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BMF54123
Staff
Staff


Joined: 28 Aug 2003
Posts: 725
Location: Spokane, WA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wouldn't a folded-up piece of paper or foam stuffed on top of the cartridge be less of a hassle (and easier on the connector) than a Game Genie?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
I am Christina Aguilera



Joined: 25 Feb 2006
Posts: 151

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2008 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BMF54123 wrote:
Wouldn't a folded-up piece of paper or foam stuffed on top of the cartridge be less of a hassle (and easier on the connector) than a Game Genie?


I doubt that it would help. The problem with mine is that once the cartridge is pressed down in the console, it usually takes 5+ minutes to get the springs to release it. It's gotten to be nearly impossible to get my games to work when directly connected to the NES too. But for whatever reason, when I use the Game Genie, the peripheral that ruined every NES's connector, my games play fine. Go figure!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Smeg
Staff
Staff


Joined: 26 Aug 2003
Posts: 1572
Location: beneath enemy scrotum

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2008 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is this about Game Genies ruining NES connectors?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Lost Levels Forum Index -> Unreleased Games All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

RSS


Powered by phpBB 2.0.23 © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group