Lost Levels Forums

The time now is Fri Apr 26, 2024 4:02 pm

Best devices to dump SNES and Genny carts...

View previous topic :: View next topic  
MrMark0673

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 4:08 pm    Post subject: Best devices to dump SNES and Genny carts... Reply with quote

Hi guys,

I have a bunch of SNES and Genny protos that I would like to back up. I use a CopyNES for my NES protos and I use an Eprom programmer for all of my loose chips. I'm looking for the best devices for dumping SNES and Genny protos WITHOUT removing the Eproms. I have removed and dumped socketed SNES chips, but I'm not very good at combing them into a usable ROM. The Genny carts that I have all have soldered chips and there is absolutely no way that I'm willing to desolder them to dump the game.

What should I buy and where should I find it? I'm not interested in sending these out to people with dumping resources as I'm likely going to be getting many more protos in the future, so no need to offer up that service.

Thanks everyone!

I'm not sure which sub-forum this belongs in, I apologize for my ignorance. After looking through the categories, this seemed like the best fit.
TheRedEye
The Internet's Frank Cifaldi
The Internet's Frank Cifaldi

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have an answer for you, but this forum is just fine for your question. Really there should be a stickied topic for this kind of information...
drx

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For the Genny, you can build a MoD's transfer cable (google it), use a Super Magic Drive or something similar or build your own dumper.

I can help you with combining the eprom files into ROMs, if you want, let me know (I've done this more times than I can count, I have custom progs to ease the pain all over the place that I quickly coded up for various types...)
KingMike

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote