Lost Levels Forums

The time now is Fri Nov 16, 2018 2:44 pm

NES Overclocking

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Lost Levels Forum Index -> Off Topic
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ClamIAm



Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 139
Location: the frozen northland

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 6:45 am    Post subject: NES Overclocking Reply with quote

You've most likely seen this already, but...

NES Overclocking


-clam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kitsune
FURRY


Joined: 20 Nov 2003
Posts: 318
Location: Mexico

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 7:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, on Slashdot.

The thing that caught my attention was a comment by a user... it said that the SNES had loading times because it was slow to load the data from a cart. Hardware limitations. I know some carts have loading time, but that's because of shitty programming. Don't believe me? Go play Fatal Fury on the SNES.

I was gonna reply with "You're so full of shit!" but then I realized it's Slashdot and most people there have no clue what they're talking about.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
narc



Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 128
Location: Krak street

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 8:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The guy also overclocked a genisis. He was on a show called The Screen Savers and did it live, and he appeared to be a very dorky person (beyond the average geek). They were kind of hard on him asking if he had a girlfriend (what a surprise he didnt :P), and generally poked fun at him. I believe sonic cult pokes fun at him too.

What he did was interesting but not really worth it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Smeg
Staff
Staff


Joined: 26 Aug 2003
Posts: 1584
Location: beneath enemy scrotum

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What's the point?

Anyway, I was more interested in this page on the guy's site. An Ecco 2 prototype is news to me...anyone know more about it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Kitsune
FURRY


Joined: 20 Nov 2003
Posts: 318
Location: Mexico

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Smeg wrote:
What's the point?


No slowdown and sprite flickering.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Smeg
Staff
Staff


Joined: 26 Aug 2003
Posts: 1584
Location: beneath enemy scrotum

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kitsune wrote:
Smeg wrote:
What's the point?


No slowdown and sprite flickering.


Slowdown is often a gameplay feature Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Kitsune
FURRY


Joined: 20 Nov 2003
Posts: 318
Location: Mexico

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Smeg wrote:
Kitsune wrote:
Smeg wrote:
What's the point?


No slowdown and sprite flickering.


Slowdown is often a gameplay feature :P


Get the Armadillo rom and tell me that's a gameplay feature. :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Carnivol
gay dickhead


Joined: 21 Jun 2004
Posts: 575
Location: confirmed

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 2:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Faxanadu kicks ass when it slows down, I mean, Matrix and bullet time, bah!

FAXANADU BABY!
FAXANADU!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iamstillhiro1112



Joined: 02 Nov 2005
Posts: 154
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I hadn't ever heard of loading time for a cartridge until I played Street Fighter Alpha 2 for SNES. I told myself that they did that to build drama. But yeah, that's definately load time. It's almost like a Playstation game or something cause of that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
narc



Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 128
Location: Krak street

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 1:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well the first fatal fury had loading screens on the SNES.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ichiban Crush
Vaporware Detective Extraordinaire
Vaporware Detective Extraordinaire


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 578
Location: 33.884906 | -84.053758

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

IIRC, SimAnt and SimCity 2000 had some of the most godawful loading times ever known to man.

Then there was Mario Paint's saving...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
BMF54123
Staff
Staff


Joined: 28 Aug 2003
Posts: 742
Location: Henderson, NV

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ichiban Crush wrote:
Then there was Mario Paint's saving...

Due to limited SRAM space, Mario Paint compresses the data before saving, hence the incredibly long delay. A friend of mine actually overloaded it once by filling every available drawing space with random dots. It's pretty funny, the robot breaks down, and shows an "X" on its screen...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sebmal



Joined: 30 Oct 2005
Posts: 152
Location: Somewhere!!

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Woah, I have to try that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
midget35



Joined: 29 Oct 2005
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

is SFAIII slowdown in between rounds an emulator problem or present in the real game too?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Lost Levels Forum Index -> Off Topic All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

RSS


Powered by phpBB 2.0.23 © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group